Fiasko Records


February 25, 2002

Delirium makes CD-debut on Fiasko Records!

Finnish-Danish quartet Delirium has released its eponymous debut album on Fiasko Records. The band consists of sax player Mikko Innanen, cornet player Kasper Tranberg, bassist Jonas Westergaard and drummer Stefan Pasborg, representing Nordic co-operation among the bold, new jazz generation at its best. There are seven tunes on the CD, four of them composed by Mr Innanen (1998, 1334, Ensin oli apina, Delirium tremens), one by Mr Pasborg (Lux) and one by Mr Westergaard (Turku Boogie). The last track on the album (Are We Finished?) is a collective, instant composition.

"With Ornette Coleman in the backpocket, the quartet play themselves into an original universe. They paint intense pictures that are obscure and straight-ahead - as well as wild and lyrical. A fascinating musical journey with the new, young talents and their fresh view on tomorrow's jazz." (Pierre Doerge)

Among the numerous groups and individual artists the band members have worked with - apart from Delirium - are names like Ray Anderson, Pierre Doerge New Jungle Orchestra, Copenhagen Art Ensemble, Tim Berne, Jesper Zeuthen, Rent Romus, George Garzone, Jacob Christoffersen, Benjamin Koppel, Jonas Müller Polkadelic Bebop Trio, John Tchicai, Horace Parlan, Lotte Anker, Liudas Mockunas, Peter Friis Nielsen, Jonas Müller, Ingrid Jensen, UMO Jazz Orchestra, Toots Thielemans, The New York Voices, Juhani Aaltonen, Diane Schuur, Jacob Dinesen, The European Jazz Youth Orchestra/Helge Albin, Han Bennink and Jaak Sooäär.

See Delirium home page for more information.